Dreams & Dances from the Steppes


Saturday | April 20, 2019 | 7:30 P.M.

Foellinger Great Hall | Krannert Center for the Performing Arts

Ian Hobson, Music Director and Conductor

Igor Kalnin, Violin

Rochelle Sennet, Piano

Journey to the Steppes with Sinfonia for our 35th season closing concert! Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky wrote his Symphony No. 1 in G minor, “Winter Dreams,” just after he accepted a position at the Moscow Conservatory—it is the composer’s earliest notable work. Sinfonia da Camera will give the world premiere of Dilorom Saidaminova’s "Breath of the East," Concerto for Violin, Piano and String Orchestra (2018) with concertmaster Igor Kalnin playing the solo violin part and principal keyboardist Rochelle Sennet on piano. Sinfonia will end its 35th season with Alexander Borodin’s energetic Polovtsian Dances

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13  (1866)

Saidaminova: "Breath of The East" Concerto for Piano, Violin, and String Orchestra (2018)

Borodin: Polovtsian Dances  (1890)

*World premiere

Featured Performers

Copyright © 2020 - Sinfonia da Camera